top of page

My Piracicaba Broccoli (AKA Chinese Broccoli) Growing Tips & My Favorite Broccoli Quiche Recipe





 

My Broccoli Tips


Piracicaba or Chinese or sprouting types are what I usually recommend people grow if they plant broccoli in the Tower Garden.


These non-heading broccolis continuously produce small heads of broccoli with long stems, similar to what you find at a Chinese restaurant. Piracicba is a tropical broccoli!


In the steamy islands of Brazil lies the tropical city of Piracicaba. It is here that this amazing, heat-tolerant broccoli was born. While most broccolis wither in the mid-summer heat, Piracicaba thrives, sending forth shoot after shoot of sweet, large-beaded florets.

I got my seeds from Whitwam Organics. It grows beautifully. Prune it heavily, and the plant will get bushy and give you loads of broccoli!!




Because of its amazing weather resistance, I'm able to grow Piracicaba Broccoli most of the year in Florida!


It's super tasty and tender and can be made into stirfry, cooked like broccolini, or made into a broccoli soup. Eat the stems, leaves, and flowers, too (keep reading for my new favorite broccoli quiche recipe!)! The flowers are delicious, so if you miss the small head, use the flowers in salads or soup or eat them raw!


When you harvest, harvest the broccoli AND the long stem. You want to cut back as you harvest so the plant becomes bushy and produces more broccoli. If you neglect to cut it back as you harvest, you will have a long, lanky broccoli plant that won't give you as much food for your kitchen.



For more in-depth information, read this Growing For Market post.

I got my Piracicaba Broccoli seed from Whitwam Organics.

( Use code BROOKS10 To save 10% off your first order Of $25 or more online.

((Not Valid on bulk items.))




 

My Favorite Broccoli Quiche Recipe

A friend posted her quiche recipe, so I thought it might be perfect to use up the Piracicaba broccoli in the garden and the leftover bacon in the fridge. This recipe turned out so good!!


 

Recipe:




Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page