top of page

Planting Potatoes In Florida






Did you know you can plant potatoes in the spring and fall here in Florida? In this post, I'll give you instructions on how I plant my potatoes and some helpful tips to keep your plants looking fabulous!





 

What Kinds Of Potatoes Should I Plant, & How Do I Plant My Potatoes?


 Small, colorful potatoes are fun and easy to grow in Florida. Large Russet potatoes don’t grow as well in Florida due to our climate and season length. Be sure to choose the right type of potatoes, so you’re successful. Choose organic red, yellow, and/or purple potatoes from the store. Organic, so they sprout well. Plant in raised beds or fabric pots. Mine are in 15-gallon fabric pots:






"Now that I know what kinds of potatoes to plant, how do I plant them?"

Great question! If you are planting in fabric pots, follow these directions:


 Fill the pots 2/3 of the way with container soil. Plant 3 small potatoes in each pot. As the plant grows, top off with more soil to keep the potatoes buried. The foliage needs to be covered if there is a freeze, so keep frost cloths or blankets on hand if you’re in an area that gets a freeze. Potatoes are easy to grow and fun to harvest!

If you are planting in the ground, follow this:


 

Other Helpful Tips

Helpful links:

Potatoes also grow well in perlite! his infographic is helpful for growing your potatoes using this medium:

 

Happy Planting!

Feel free to contact me by clicking here with any questions or concerns!

~ Leah Brooks


18 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page