top of page

Homemade Yogurt!

Updated: Jan 11


L. reuteri yogurt! It took 36 hours to make this & it’s probably the best yogurt I’ve ever made (and one of the best I’ve eaten!). It’s really yummy with wildflower honey. I used Dr. Daves Infinite Health’s recipe to make L. reuteri yogurt. However, I used a sous vide to keep the water bath temperature to 100F for 36 hours. It’s nearly effortless to make and mostly hands-off.


 

Benefits of L. Reuteri Yogurt




During January, I’m going to commit to eating this yogurt for 30 days to see if I see any of the purported benefits:


  • Improved gut health. L. reuteri has been associated with enhancing gut health by promoting a balanced gut microbiome, which can contribute to better digestion and a stronger immune system. Recent studies show that reuteri may inhibit colon cancer cell development.

  • Anti-inflammatory A study published in 2022 showed Lactobacillus reuteri LM1071 inhibited the production of inflammation mediators such as NO, eicosanoids such as PGE1 & PGE2, pro-inflammatory cytokines, and COX proteins.

  • Heart health. There is limited research that suggests that L. reuteri may have a positive impact on heart health by helping to reduce cholesterol levels and blood pressure.

  • Bone health. Some studies have shown that L. reuteri might play a role in the improvement of bone density, reducing the risk of osteoporosis.

  • Mood and mental health. Emerging research is exploring the connection between gut health and mental well-being. L. reuteri’s potential to influence gut-brain communication may have implications for mood regulation.

  • Prevents obesity L. reuteri prevented weight gain, lowered fat mass relieved dyslipidemia, and improved glucose homeostasis and insulin sensitivity in mice in a study published in 2022



 

Update!


My Second batch of my l. reuteri yogurt! Since this is my 2nd batch, I made it with 2 T of my first batch of yogurt instead of the probiotic pills. To serve, I warmed up sour cherries and added 1/3 c. of yogurt and oh my gosh - it is incredible! Satisfies my sweet tooth and warms my heart.

I killed a batch because I forgot to set the temp on my stick sous vide and over heated the bacteria. There are always bumps in the road!





 

Happy Cooking!

Feel free to message me with any questions or concerns by clicking here.

~ Leah Brooks



51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page